This time you will get to know one of our Näppsitters from Amsterdam, enjoy!

Meet the Näppsitter, Andriana

“My name is Adriana and I’m 20 years old. I was born in Austria, moved to Germany when I was 3 years old, and then to Amsterdam last summer. I am currently studying Psychology at the VU. I’ve always been really interested in Psychology, so being able to study it in one of my favorite cities is a dream come true.

In my free time, I enjoy listening to music, meeting up with friends, playing guitar, playing soccer/tennis, learning new languages and traveling.

A while ago I found out about Näpp on Instagram. I immediately thought that Näpp might be a good platform for me to find a family since I’ve had problems finding one with a child that speaks English/German/French.

Back in Germany, I used to babysit a 6-year-old boy. I also have an 11-year-old brother, so I’d say I have quite a bit of experience. I really enjoy playing with children, especially since I’ve done so all my life and now that I live here and my brother in Germany, it definitely feels like something is missing.

I enjoy babysitting because it’s very diverse, it doesn’t consist of the same 2 or 3 tasks; there are so many different activities. I like getting to know new children and entertaining them and seeing their happy faces when they’re having fun. I also think babysitting is a good compensation for studying because it‘s something fun and doesn’t make you feel like you’re working – you don’t get home feeling as exhausted as after other jobs. 

While babysitting it is important to me that the children have fun and enjoy their time with me. That’s why I am open to whatever it is they enjoy doing – whether it’s playing sports, playing an instrument, playing with lego, etc. Of course, I am also there to help with homework if needed:)”